Welcome to Casa de Coronado Museum

This museum showcases the history of tourism in Yuma, the growth of Yuma and the development of the Best Western Motel over the last 75 years. It houses exhibits of tourism pamphlets and brochures about Arizona and Yuma, travel guides, furniture and appliances from the early 1900s, and historic photos. It is located in the cottage that used to be the original lobby of the hotel as well as the home of the Peach family. The Peach family were immigrants from Czeckoslovakia who came through Ellis Island to eventually settle in Yuma in 1912. John Peach was a tailor and Marie was a buttonhole maker. They opened Famous Cleaners in 1916 and also managed the Vindom Hotel downtown in exchange for boarding. In 1920 they purchased the Virginia Hotel and Marie opened the only ladies dress shop in town. In 1932, they bought the rights to tear down the old Southern Pacific Railroad Hotel for the lumber in order to build the Peach Auto Court on the outskirts of Yuma. In 1938, the Coronado was built and over the years it has expanded several times and became the Best Western Coronado Motor Hotel. Today, in order to preserve the uniqueness of this historic hotel, the Historic Coronado Motor Hotel has become its own brand. The history of this growth and expansion is well represented in the museum. The Peaches today own and operate the Historic Coronado Motor Hotel plus the Yuma Landing Sports Bar and Grill that is located directly across the street. The restaurant also showcases Arizona's aviation history and is located on the very spot the first plane to land in Arizona touched down. The Coronado Online Gift Shop offers Native American artwork as well as items from Mexico. The online shop will be opened soon. See us featured on Big Blend’s Radio & TV Magazine, click here.
Open by Appointment only - please call 877-234-5567 or 928-783-4453 to arrange a tour. Located at 233 Forth Avenue, Yuma, AZ. 85364                  Email: info@CasaDeCoronadoMuseum.com
Google Translator
Located at 233 Forth Avenue, Yuma, AZ. 85364 Email: info@CasaDeCoronadoMuseum.com

Welcome to Casa de Coronado

Museum

This museum showcases the history of tourism in Yuma, the growth of Yuma and the development of the Best Western Motel over the last 75 years. It houses exhibits of tourism pamphlets and brochures about Arizona and Yuma, travel guides, furniture and appliances from the early 1900s, and historic photos. It is located in the cottage that used to be the original lobby of the hotel as well as the home of the Peach family. The Peach family were immigrants from Czeckoslovakia who came through Ellis Island to eventually settle in Yuma in 1912. John Peach was a tailor and Marie was a buttonhole maker. They opened Famous Cleaners in 1916 and also managed the Vindom Hotel downtown in exchange for boarding. In 1920 they purchased the Virginia Hotel and Marie opened the only ladies dress shop in town. In 1932, they bought the rights to tear down the old Southern Pacific Railroad Hotel for the lumber in order to build the Peach Auto Court on the outskirts of Yuma. In 1938, the Coronado was built and over the years it has expanded several times and became the Best Western Coronado Motor Hotel. Today, in order to preserve the uniqueness of this historic hotel, the Historic Coronado Motor Hotel has become its own brand. The history of this growth and expansion is well represented in the museum. The Peaches today own and operate the Historic Coronado Motor Hotel plus the Yuma Landing Sports Bar and Grill that is located directly across the street. The restaurant also showcases Arizona's aviation history and is located on the very spot the first plane to land in Arizona touched down. The Coronado Online Gift Shop offers Native American artwork as well as items from Mexico. The online shop will be opened soon. See us featured on Big Blend’s Radio & TV Magazine, click here.